Playing in traffic

I never knew I could be so happy being stuck in traffic on my way to a work appointment; but alas, it happened today. It wasn’t because I was lucky to feel that way. It wasn’t because there was actually something amazing happening out of it. It was simply because I chose to be happy!

I wasn’t looking forward to going back to work today. I mean, who is excited to wake up extra early on a Monday morning for a staff meeting and then get right to work after a week of vacation? Even without the vacation, most of us don’t look forward to Monday.

Then I read this post that talked about treating your current job as if it is your dream job and that is how you will eventually land your dream job. It’s all about staying positive people!

So this morning I thought, I’m going to be excited about work. I started thinking about all of the good things about my job, and boy are there some really great things. And I thought, “You know, I’m going to just believe that I am the most amazing at my job.” I finished my meeting and I even talked about those good things with others and by the time I left the office for my first appointment, I was so excited! On my way, I almost got into a terrible car accident (other guy’s fault) but I kept on and then I got into awful traffic that left me sitting in one spot for a good 10-15 minutes. I could have been angry that I was losing work time and money. Or angry that the flaggers simply were not letting our lane through. Or angry that….well the list goes on and on. Instead, I was so freaking excited and happy! I thought, FP is giving me a much needed rest. This is life’s way of giving me a little fun break! I turned up the radio and all of my favorite songs were coming on. I was singing and smiling and dancing, all while looking around and noticing people getting antsy and frustrated and I thought, “Why? Why would you choose to be angry? No matter how terrible you feel bad about this traffic, it’s not going to go anywhere! So just enjoy it!”

I thanked the FP for giving me that little fun break and before I knew it the traffic was let through. I was a little bummed! And so far my day is kickin’.

Tell yourself how amazing you are. No one else will believe it until or unless you do.  🙂

What say you?

