To share or not to share?

I’m wondering if anyone out there lets their significant other, or maybe even family members, read their blog. Are you open about it that they may access it and read it like anyone else? Or is it a secret?

I’ve been going back and forth on this one lately. My boyfriend knows I have this along with the Facebook page by the same name (Beautifully Borderline). On one hand I think, “Maybe it’d be good for him to read it. He can really see what I go through inside and maybe it will help him understand me a bit better.” On the other hand I think, “No. What if he reads it and is so put off by what he reads, that he leaves me?” Typical borderline thought I guess. Not to mention that he probably won’t ever really understand me, but it may give him a good amount of insight that he’d understand my needs more and may be able to recognize things a bit easier. Anyway.

So what does everyone else do and think about this? To share or not to share?

6 thoughts on “To share or not to share?

  1. I have mixed emotions about sharing my blog with family and my husband. They don’t read it. At first, some of them did and it was pretty good. Then it wasn’t so good. Now nobody reads it and that’s all right with me. I wish they could read it and understand me better. My family doesn’t want to talk about it. It’s too awkward anyways. It’s better to just talk about happy things with them. Everything is just sunshine and rainbows and unicorns all the time! (Can you tell I’m a little bitter, lol!)

    I’m not sure how to advise you on this. You have to do what you feel is right in your heart. Maybe try sharing it with them and see how it goes. If it doesn’t work out, then maybe don’t share it with them anymore. I don’t know if I helped or just rambled on. I hope this helps a bit.

  2. I just started my blog. I told my grandparents that I started one and they ask me what a blog was. I tried to explain but it was difficult to. I offered for them to look it up on the internet and they were not interested. That’s okay because its their decision. I’m fine with it. I didn’t tell my mom because I don’t need her to start drama on my blog. I told my dad and one day he wants me to read an entry or two to him. He is unable to read due to a Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI). My brother knows and is going to look at it whenever he goes to the library. My boyfriend is all for it. He is extremely supportive of me and my ways on how to educate others about mental illness as well as showing others who struggle with mental illness that recovery is possible. I love my boyfriend. I don’t mind him reading it. Just like I don’t mind most of my family reading it. I just don’t want my mom to because she will misuse it. As you can tell I told selected family members. Its up to you.

  3. My partner has full access to anything I write. That said, he often doesn’t read a lot of it because he’s not interested in my writing style (lol). If there was anything in particular I wanted him to read, I know he would, but mostly he just figures I’ll tell him anything important, and I do try to.

  4. I would feel comfortable with anyone reading mine as long as they adhere to the standards of decorum relating to responses and replies.
    Maybe even ask them to reply ONLY through the blog and ONLY if they identify – at the very least – their relationship to me. That way if they’re going to be assholes about it they can do it in public, help me make my point.

  5. I initially started a blog using my real name and made the mistake of sharing my first post http://suicidaltransgirl.wordpress.com/2014/06/15/crimson-lines/ on my Facebook page. The results were disastrous. It made my already troubled relationship with my former partner worse and prompted a family member to call to police and have them do a wellness check on me.

    So I started a new blog under a pseudonym and I have not shared it with anyone I know yet. I am not sure if I ever will.

    1. Ugh that’s terrible and understandable why you keep it private now. I would never share it with my mom or sis. They wouldn’t understand. They never have understood me.

      Thank you for sharing.

What say you?

