Q: Who would you be, without your BPD?

A: An emophane

Explanation:

Direct link (or read below for a summary, along with my own personal commentary): http://aapel.org/bdp/BLemophaniaUS.html

Wow. I just stumbled upon this. I’ve met a few other borderlines around the internet and have noticed some similarities among us all. I think the biggest two I’ve noticed are kind-heartedness and creativity. So I started on my e-search to “the positives about having BPD”, and I found this.

This is my favorite part: “It is not because I suffer from a borderline disorder that I’m sensitive, but because I’m sensitive that I was in a population at risk to develop a BPD”.

One of the other hallmarks of having BPD, is an identity disturbance. I often do feel like BPD is who I am. Who would I be without it? What would I be like? What all aspects about me would be different, or non-existent? I guess in a sense, I already feel so empty all of the time, that losing the one thing I am sure about myself (my diagnosis), feels like a total loss of myself. That above quote is certainly something to remember. It may also be a better idea to think of it this way. If you didn’t have your BPD, you wouldn’t lose any of you, but rather those great qualities may get the chance to shine even more.

We certainly are filled with some very great qualities.

Are you an emophane?

4 thoughts on “Q: Who would you be, without your BPD?

  1. Thank you for posting this.

    It’s a great and interesting theme!

    I was also questioning myself, what I would be like without BPD.

    And I didn’t liked the answer.

    In fact, some traits I wear with this diagnosis, are essential part of who I am.

    Without BPD, who knows?

    An empty shell?

    Thanks again. Really like it.

What say you?

