The Injured Goose

Where I work, the building is located a bit back from the road. When you drive back toward the building, there is a big pond on the left side of the parking lot that sits in front of the building. That pond is the play-pool for a number of geese and ducks, and their families.

There is one goose in particular that I often see, and he makes me want to cry. He has an injured wing. He doesn’t look like he is still hurting, but rather that he got injured at one point in time and it just never healed properly because he didn’t have medical care.

It may just be me, but when I see him (which is almost daily), he seems to be somewhat alone. He seems to only tag-along behind the rest of the geese. It makes me really sad. I feel like I relate to him.

Looking at me, maybe I don’t look like anything is wrong. Unless of course I’m in one of my crazy symptomatic moments, but otherwise I guess I look normal. I sure don’t feel like it. If my BPD could be seen, I’d be just like that injured goose. I’d actually probably be in a full body cast, but you get the point.

Then it got me thinking…do the other geese know he is different? Do animals see differences like that? Are they aware that he was hurt? That he can’t help that he has a broken wing now? Do they leave him alone because he can’t function as well as the rest of them and therefore is like “the weakest link” that none of them want? The last one to be picked when the two flying team leaders are picking their flying members when they’re ready to go North or South for the season? CAN HE EVEN FLY…THAT FAR!? Geese surely can be mean to each other. I see them fighting often. I just am not sure if their minds work in this way, like humans do. If they discriminate.

I wish I could take that goose home. I like him.

6 thoughts on “The Injured Goose

  1. I can see how you relate to that goose. I do too hun. We are unfortunate in a way that our pain is so invisible. Not many people get to see it and therefore not many understand how real it is. Sending you hugs xxx

  2. The tribes or flocks can always pick out their members who are injured or who have some extra challenge to face.
    Civilized tribes or flocks (meaning to say “Those usually without only two legs”) are usually protective or respectful of their infirm members and will assist them as needed.
    Except, of course, for piranhas.
    Especially those with only two legs.

    You’re starting to sound more and more like our daughter, who keeps adding on more and more gimpy little critters. And some deemed “socially inappropriate for adoption”.
    Until the meet Emmie.

      1. Geese can be pretty scary at times. Our daughter has one that terrorizes her husband (who is more like Sheldon Cooper than Daniel Boone when it comes to living in the Sierras).
        If this particular goose were not being cared for to a certain degree, the other geese (especially the males, of course) would have him in much worse shape than he is.
        But yea… they’re aware.

      2. Jeez, you are so right. I see them fighting each other often, but I’ve never seen any fighting with him.

        That makes me feel better. Maybe he lags in the back of the pack so they can protect him by making sure he approaches nothing harmful. I will tell myself that’s what it is.

What say you?

