Preparing for the Prescription

So I’ve decided that I am going to be fully prepared for when I go to the doctor to get meds. I already know SSRI’s are out, and I know (from my research), that there are three classes of meds that are helpful with the symptoms that I experience (and that are associated with BPD): Antipsychotics, Mood Stabilizers, and a few Antieonvulsants that they’ve found have worked for¬†stabilizing moods.

I’m collecting a list of each medication in each class (because each class of meds helps with a different set of symptoms…I’m prepared to hear that I may need to start more than one medication), and I’ve made a list of my symptoms. I’m going to research each medication and find out its common side effects (I’m really set against not gaining a bunch of weight just to feel better, because that will make me feel worse), and decide which meds I definitely don’t want, etc. Regardless, my goal is to know these medications so when he tells me what he is thinking he may put me on, I will be knowledgeable and will know what I’m getting into and can maybe even discuss the options rather than just taking whatever he gives me and calling it a day. I want to make an educated decision.

So that’s my homework for this weekend. I’ve already got it started.

__________________________________________________

Update: I’ve already decided this is a really bad idea and I’m not going to do it. I’m freaking myself out with all the crap I’m reading. I think I’ll just tell the doctor my concern with the weight gain type meds, and let him direct me from there. Case closed!

One thought on “Preparing for the Prescription

  1. Unless I need to know specifically how many home runs Barry Bonds hit in his third year with the Pittsburgh Pirates or the equivalent of seven ounces in milliliters, I don’t go to the internet for answers.
    When it comes to medical or legal matters, I go to the internet to help me figure out what questions I need to ask an actual expert.
    It drove the point home when I did some research on “Retinal Artery Occlusions”. I suffered one in January 2011 and one of the first things that I found out on-line is that the life expectancy of someone who experienced the problem averaged five-and-a-half years.
    So much more to it than that.

    Meds.
    Holy shit, where does one start?
    Different meds affect different parts of the brain. Regular over-the-counter generic Benedryl (which is used for itching, for sneezing, in light-weight sleep aids and the like) affects the same part of the brain as some anti-anxiety medications, too much of which can have your brain shutting down your lungs. In theory and in actuality, one fuckin’ OTC diphenhydramine you bought at Dollar Tree can kill you under certain circumstances.
    When the doctor put Liz on Geodon, she was expected to gain weight. Even web.md said so.
    In less than a year she lost almost one hundred pounds.
    Do some homework by all means, but realize that even the most educated guess is still just a guess.
    The answers you seek need to come from a doctor and – don’t forget this guy – a pharmacist.

What say you?

