Pay what!?

So at the end of 2014, my doctor started me on Abilify. In the month I took it I could tell it worked and only cost me $20-$20 bucks. It was like night and day. I was me. I felt like a “normal” person as far as mental illnesses go. My boyfriend even noticed a huge difference.

So here we are in 2015 and I go to refill my prescription. “That’ll be $781 please.” What? Wait, what? Did I hear that correctly? Yes, I did. Apparently my insurance now has an out of pocket expense of $5000 which they would like me to try to meet so they will tack it onto various services. Uh, could we not choose my practically life sustaining medication to do that with?

I called my insurance to see if there was anything at all I could do to have this lowered. Answer: No. We’d like you to try to pay your $5000 max. The good news is, if you pay your meds for 3 months, your deductible is all paid! Oh great! So I’ll just give up my home and get these meds, and the world will be great again! -_-

Meanwhile I am/was going through withdraw symptoms of the meds. Severe shakes and now the mood swings. Do they not realize that helping me get these meds keeps me sane? They don’t care. It’s a money market.

So other than seeing if my dr will send my prescription to Canada so I can get months worth of Abilify for only $45, I checked Healthcare.gov again to see my options. I qualified right away for enrollment and even a special tax credit to reduce my premium. I think I found an insurance that will save me TONS of money and if I checked right, my therapist, my dr and my gyno all take the insurance! I want to double check before I enroll in the plan but I may have found my half life saver.

On a whole other note, I’m missing my dad. I go back and forth between happy for him and sad for my loss. His obituary goes out on Sunday. I wrote it. We collected all his things yesterday which really was just a bunch of junk. However, we did manage to find some really sentimentally valued items that we all split up. My family has had it’s problems and no one has been perfect, but I think I have a great family.

We got Dad’s ashes and death certificates yesterday. So today we are going to get things moving. As morbid as some may believe it to be, and I’m weird like this, I kept the chair that dad passed in. It’s a recliner and having it just makes me feel like he’s here.

I love you, Daddy

One thought on “Pay what!?

  1. Yikes! I just switched from Medicaid to private insurance effective January 1st, I have no idea if I have a deductible or not, but I did a little research and found that a 90 supply of the meds I take daily would be a little over $2700 retail. Add another $1800 for the ones I take weekly, and we are talking more than I paid for my first car.

    Losing a parent is hard, my dad passed in August 2012 and I miss him deeply. I don’t know if there is anything I can say to make you feel better, but I am here if you ever want to chat.

What say you?

